2024-01-19: new beginnings

First blog entry, hooray!

I'm tired as I write this so I'll be pretty brief. I'm a beginner artist, and I've just bought a book called Drawing with the Right Side of the Brain which was recommended to me by an artist friend whom I really respect. It calls for a few materials that I didn't have, so I ordered those and now I'm waiting for them. They should arrive tomorrow.

The first task posed by the book is to draw some things at my current skill level. I really don't want to do this, primarily because I want to start learning ASAP and secondarily because I don't think I'm good enough to really get anything out of the attempt yet. But my artist friend tells me that it's a good idea to have a record of my progress over time so I can look back with fondness and feel pride in my improvement. And to that I say,

We'll see how it goes. Maybe I'll even have the courage to post the results here.