2024-01-20

Honkai: Star Rail

Maaaaan, I like Honkai: Star Rail but I think I'm terrible at it. I can't beat the swarm mode of the Simulated Universe even if I go in at a much higher level, and each attempt is such a huge time commitment that it completely deters me from trying again and again. I've tried to read up on team comps and make a good team with good equipment, but something about what I do is falling short. I need a damn gacha coach. LMAO

It doesn't help that after like a month of not playing, logging in is an assault on the senses. So many red notifications and things demanding attention, so many new quests etc, it's overwhelming. I don't think I'll ever catch up unless I work hard, and I don't foresee myself doing that any time soon, with ESO to occupy me.

Palworld

I wanna play Palworld but I'm hearing that its devs are big into AI and all that bullshit and they stole from Pokemon in a way that's kind of... really blatant. I think even stealing art from large companies is bad because it opens the gates to stealing art from regular people. So I don't want to support them. Instead I'm just watching streamers play it - every single one that I follow got a copy of it for free in their twitch inbox.

Art!!!

My art materials arrived (except for the erasers) so I can start at any time. But the first exercises demand at least an hour of uninterrupted time, and I feel unprepared for that. But I guess I have to push through my reluctance because how else will I ever start?

Update: I did the first three exercises, which were to draw, at my current skill level, 1) a portrait of someone I knew from memory, 2) a self portrait, and 3) my other hand. We're not gonna talk about the first two. But I think, for a beginner, I fucking nailed the hand!!

I think I'm excited to continue even though the next exercise looks a little boring. But I'm limiting myself to at most one chapter/set of exercises per day. We'll see how I feel tomorrow.

Dungeon Meshi

Rounding the night off by watching the first episode of Dungeon Meshi with my girlfriend. It's a very charming show and the dub (which is how I prefer to watch anime) is very good! We'll definitely be watching this over the coming weeks. Hopefully we can catch up to the current episode and stay ahead of spoilers over on twitter. I love Senshi. He is my favorite.