2024-01-25

Dragon's Dogma

My girlfriend is playing Dragon's Dogma. This is not a fucking drill. Oh my god. I watched her play this morning and despite having played the game over a decade ago I keep wanting to offer tips from what I clearly remember. I have to squirm in place and imagine a stern nun cracking a ruler over my wrists. Watching her is making me so excited to play 2 that I want to play 1 again, which would be a bad idea. I need to save myself for 2. My stamina is limited.

Art

I did the next exercise today. But I kind of did it "wrong?" It was transferring an image from the picture plane to paper. I didn't follow the directions exactly and I think I didn't get what I was supposed to out of it. The book suggests doing at least one more, though, so I think I'll take it up on that and try again tomorrow. I'll read and follow the directions more carefully this time.

I've purchased some graphite so I can tone my paper a little easier, and it's supposed to arrive in two days. Man, learning how to draw sure does incur a whole bunch of little expenses that add up. But I guess that's true of almost any new skill/hobby, isn't it?

Video games, world events

Just under 2k people got laid off from Activision/Blizzard today. There's so much bad news to couple that with, crowned by the genocide in Palestine. It's hard to have any hope at all. But I've been told that having hope is one part of triumph, so I have to keep living and doing what I can from where I am.