2024-01-26

Video games

All games that require even a little bit of skill at anything should have a mode you can enter into at any time that either teaches you the controls of the game from the ground up or provides a sandbox in which you can relearn them. Good for when you've put it down for a while and come back. This brought to you by my problem where I keep putting down Assassin's Creed: Valhalla for weeks at a time and not wanting to go back to it because I don't remember how to play.

Art

Didn't do another pure contour drawing today. Didn't feel motivated. I tried drawing some leaves in Clip Studio Paint with my tablet but that didn't feel too great. Unfortunately I feel I am one of those people who wants to get good at a thing really fast and gets discouraged when I'm not immediately good at the thing. Because I was so gifted in childhood, and praise was heaped upon me for the leaps and bounds I made in everything that I did, then evaporated when I could no longer actually naturally excell at anything because the tasks became too complex, I now feel like I want to disintegrate whenever I try and fail - or am just less than great. Because less than greatness is like failure. It's a mindset I'm trying really hard to get out of, and part of doing so was buying this book and actually reading it and doing the exercises. I can't give up, I can't lose this momentum. I have to do a drawing tomorrow.

FFXIV, depression

I've started doing leveling roulettes again for the tomes now that I've finally completed Hildibrand. Still need to unlock the weapon, but that's an easy thing, right? I don't know if this is a sign of my mood improving because it seems like when one meter rises, another lowers. My mental state is inscrutable.

Gonna try to read more of The Fall of Babel tonight - or at least catch up on some webtoons.

Wistful sigh.