2024-02-04

Art

This morning I was fully prepared, come the nighttime, to report that I had yet again not done the next exercise from the art book. Then as I was describing my reasoning for it being such a hard thing to start to my girlfriend, suddenly I got the urge and the drive to do it. Complaining works.

This task was to draw a chair (or in my case a stepstool) by drawing the negative space around and within it. It was really hard to do. I'm not sure how I ended up with this result. The next exercises are asking me to copy drawings and their negative space, so it should be easier to start on them.

I'm apprehensive about this art book. I've done a few of the exercises "wrong" now and I feel like I haven't gotten what I should be getting from them. I guess I just need to remember that the book is always there to go back and do again if I feel like I need to do that.

Writing

Got to a wall today. I'm up against a scene that canonically happens in the game that I'm making a few adjustments to for my own purposes, and I don't quite remember what happens in the cutscene and it's hard to determine what's going on from the gamerescape dialogue, so I have to go to the Unending Journey and watch the cutscene there and take notes. Not the most arduous of tasks, but for some reason it really is a brick wall that I have to crash through with a hardened head.

Update: crashed through. Now this part of the writing is done and I get more liberty for a bit before I have to do this again.