2024-04-18

I've got a lot of stuff to talk about!

Gaming

I've been swallowed up by Dragon's Dogma 2 for the past handful of weeks. It's been so good to be fully obsessed with playing a game again. I know this isn't true, but the last time I can remember feeling that way was with Dragon's Dogma 1, 10 years ago. I'm only a little ways away from maxxing out my main pawn and then I can put the game down a little more. Don't want to overlevel or anything.

Art

My time with DD2 has necessitated a time away from art for a while, but I've slowly come back to it in the past few days with sketches and digital drawings. A couple weeks ago I tried something called Paintstorm Studio or whatever but I couldn't figure out how to get it working, so I tossed it aside like that kid in Toy Story with the doll. I don't want to play with you anymore. (I barely started playing with it to begin with.) I'm paying for Clip Studio Paint anyway so I might as well use it.

FFXIV

The big drama on twitter lately has been the 7.0 benchmark coming out and people realizing for really reals that all their mods are going to be broken for the foreseeable future after 7.0's release. Additionally, lots of people are either happy or not happy about how their characters look in the graphical update. I'm personally sitting pretty; Lena looks almost exactly the same. But others like Au Ra and Viera players are Going Through It. I've tried to direct people to the forums and all. I have wavering confidence that CBU3 will listen to the feedback we give them.

The Beverly Hillbillies

Seeing this title you may ask, what?? But I promise it's relevant. On April 2nd Quinton Reviews put out a 38 hour video on the Beverly Hillbillies and their impact on television in America, and I started watching it. I was about 14 hours through over the course of two weeks when I went to watch it and realized it had been copyright stricken off of youtube - but it was uploaded to archive.org and I managed to snag it there. So I am continuing to watch.

It's very entertaining - both the video and the show. The show is actually pretty cleverly written (when you get past all the dated 1960's ideals) and I've come across a number of quotes that I want to repurpose for my own fanfic writing if I can. One being, "You'd steal a hot stove and then come back for the smoke!" Just incredible.

Programming

I've been learning Python because a streamer called DougDoug that I watch does all of his neat shit in Python. I don't intend to do any of the neat shit he does but it's always good to learn a new language. I've kind of fallen off of it a bit due to wavering motivation but the last thing I made was a blackjack playing program with no dealer's hand and no other players save for the user. I've basically just been going through the various exercises people have posted as prompts to the internet on reddit and other places. People joke that Reddit's the only real place to get information nowadays but honestly, they're right. God help us all.

Mochi

I've started to give Mochi medicine with wet food because she is actually motivated by wet food and will eat it. She screams for it when I get out the saucer I feed her with. She hasn't vomited since I started giving her the medicine (it's a probiotic for cats) so I'm hopeful.

That's all for now.