6.55 - Growing Light pt.2

(2024-01-16) - It should be noted that my time in months leading up to this patch were marked by a distinct lack of playing the game. I played ESO instead, and completely neglected FFXIV. On 2024-01-16 (when the patch came out) I tried to get myself to play some roulettes for tomes for the eventual Hildibrand weapon unlock, but every time I looked at one, I thought to myself, "If I do this roulette and I get X, I'll want to die" so I declined to do any this day. Maybe tomorrow.

MSQ (2024-01-16)

My thoughts on the MSQ are few this time. I smiled at "Archon Relm" but then later when G'raha was talking to Krile and seemingly offered to stay behind to take care of the Students of Baldesion, I was sitting there like, "We have already seen you eating tacos in Tural. If you're asking to stay behind, how do you go back upon that?" and we're not going to find out for months.

Speaking of, I think G'raha has finally found a balance between being the Exarch and being Young Boy G'raha. He still had some wonder in him but was overall very mellow.

Additionally, I love Wuk Lamat. She's already full of character and she had like 5 scenes. Unfortunately during the cutscene where everyone was eating, the meat looked so amazing that I just sat there and drooled and didn't pay attention to barely a word that was being said. I really don't like this new impressive-food direction we're heading in in ffxiv. It makes me so fucking hungry all the time!!

I didn't foresee the Scions individually being drawn to Tural for their own purposes, but I guess it makes sense given that they're all split up/"disbanded" atm. The scenes where the main characters all discover each other in Tural are going to be... a time.

Allied Tribe Quests (2024-01-16)

I enjoyed the walkaround up to the race and then I immensely enjoyed the race itself. I think I chose the "correct" option because everything went perfectly and I won, but I'm not sure if you win no matter what happens. Illusion of choice for ease of development, and all. Overall a very nice payoff to a very nice set of tribal quests. I'm also glad the Miqo'te with the damn cyber half-mask is still dead, or as good as.

Island Sanctuary (2024-01-20)

I really liked that Jullus and some Garleans (including the guy from the Alpha and Omega wrapup!) were the last visitors for the island. It gives me hope for the innocent people in Garlemald and their future because of the positive aura that everyone gave off when they were describing their skills as an agrictultural people. I think Garlemald (the ingame area) might remain a ruin forever due to limitations, but I hope for maybe new side areas where things aren't so grim. Slightly related, Corvos? Corvos, anyone? Please?

Hildibrand (2024-01-24)

I immensely enjoyed the conclusion to the Hildibrand questline. The trial itself was pretty simple except for the "simon says" mechanic with like, six steps (impossible for me) but I only died a couple of times (to that). I was going to be upset about Brandihild but then the game was like "nah he's surely ok" and then showed me him being okay and I thought, "Well ok!" I like Brandihild as a character and foil to Hildibrand so I'm excited to see him in the future. Tural adventures are gonna go apeshit. The aliens were also very cute.

Tataru's Grand Endeavor (2024-01-24)

I managed not to cry during the gifting of the necklace scene, which is a huge win considering how tearful I was for the past two days. I like the narrative about the Hannish workers feeling disconnected from their homeland. I kind of want to bring Gaius in on that and explore some similar feelings he has and his guilt for feeling them at all. It'll be stewing in my head for a while, how to get this whole patch into writing.

⬅ back